Hart Liberal Democrats

Minutes of Special General Meeting Friday 6th September 2024 held in Jubilee Hall, West Green Road, Hartley Wintney RG27 8RQ

1. Welcome and Apologies

David Simpson welcomed members to the meeting.

Apologies were received from:

Alex Brewer, Janet Davies, Cedric Dowe, Paul Einchcomb, Jim Emery, Silke Engström, Michael Fox, Judy Johnson, Ann Knott, Bob Lewis, Christine Oldfield, Andy Parker, Shamraz Razzaq, John Rolls, Shaun Rowbottom, Mark Vernon,

2. Selection of County Candidates for Elections in 2025

The following were selected to stand for Hart county wards:

Ward	Candidate		Note
Church Crookham and Ewshot	No candidates		
Fleet Town	Peter Wildsmith	Elected nem. con	
Hook and Odiham	Tony Over	Elected nem. con	
Hartley Wintney and Yateley West	Deborah Fontana	Elected nem. con	
Yateley East and Blackwater	Stuart Bailey	S Bailey 10 votes, D Neighbour 6 vote	!S

3. Constitutional Amendment

Proposed changes were set out in the Agenda in an extract from the Constitution. The following motion was put:

"That this meeting approves the proposed changes to Section 5 of the Local Party Constitution."

The motion was approved nem. con.

Note that Local Party officers will be elected according to the revised list at the Local Party AGM on 8th November 2024.

Members attending:

Stuart Bailey, Tony Baines, Don Bathgate, Brian Blewett, Alison Box, Nigel Box, Andy Brown, Bernard Carter, Roger Carter, Adrian Collett, Pam Collett, Roger Coombes, Jon Davies, Erika Delmarko, Sue Fisher, Deborah Fontana, Ann Froggatt, Pam Hardy, Wilf Hardy, Bob Harward, Jack Hopkins, Penny Hopkins, John Keane, Janine Kilroy, Dave Lister, Pam Phelps-Jones, Dave Neighbour, Glynn Neville, David Simpson, Marguerite Simpson, Kara Stanford, Dan Taylor, Ishbel Thompson, Julia Wedlock, Peter Wildsmith, Simon Wilson, Alex Worrall, Emma Wright

External Returning Officer: Cllr Kerry Morrow, Basingstoke & Deane

Observer: Ria Meiszner

Proposed changes to Sections 5.1, 5.3 and 5.4 of the Constitution (Officers and Executive Committee)

Current version:

- 5.1 The Officers of the Local Party shall be the
- (a) Chair;
- (b) Vice-Chair;
- (c) Treasurer;
- (d) Secretary;
- (e) Elections Officer;
- (f) Membership Development Officer;
- (g) Diversity Champion;
- (h) Data Officer;
- (i) Media Officer;
- (j) Fundraising Officer.
- 5.3 The general and financial business of the Local Party shall be controlled and carried on by the Executive Committee, subject to the decisions of general meetings and in compliance with the Political Parties, Elections and Referendums Act 2000 and the Data Protection Act 2018. The Executive Committee shall consist of:
- (a) The Officers;
- (b) Eight ordinary members to be elected annually in the same manner as the Officers;
- (c) The Party's Members of Parliament for constituencies covered by the Local Party, and Prospective Parliamentary Candidates, when in post;
- (d) The Local Party's approved parliamentary Agent or Organiser.
- (e) Two representatives of the party's members from Hampshire County Council representing electoral divisions within the Local Party, elected by and from such members, and two representatives of the party's members from the Hart District Council representing wards within the constituency, elected by and from such members;
- (f) One representative elected by and from each local branch of the party's Youth and Student Organisation;

The number of representatives in (e) and (f) should not exceed the combined number of officers and ordinary members as at (a) and (b).

5.4 The Executive Committee may co-opt up to two additional members, for a term expiring not later than December 31st of the year in which they are co-opted. The power of co-option shall be used, inter alia, to ensure if possible that no more than two-thirds of the Executive Committee (other than under Sections 5.3 (d) - (f)), identify as the same gender, and that there is fair representation of under-represented groups in the locality, with the intention of creating an executive that reflects the community the Local Party serves.

Proposed new version (changes highlighted):

- 5.1The Officers of the Local Party shall be the
- (a) Chair;
- (b) Vice-Chair;
- (c) Treasurer;
- (d) Secretary;
- (e) Elections Officer;
- (f) Membership Development Officer;
- (g) Diversity Champion;
- (h) Council Coordinator;
- (i) Campaign Coordinator;
- (j) Fundraising Officer.
- 5.3 The general and financial business of the Local Party shall be controlled and carried on by the Executive Committee, subject to the decisions of general meetings and in compliance with the Political Parties, Elections and Referendums Act 2000 and the Data Protection Act 2018. The Executive Committee shall consist of:
- (a) The Officers;
- (b) The Party's Members of Parliament for constituencies covered by the Local Party, and Prospective Parliamentary Candidates, when in post;
- (c) The Local Party's approved parliamentary Agent or Organiser.
- (d) One representative of the party's members from Hampshire County Council representing electoral divisions within the Local Party, elected by and from such members, and one representative of the party's members from the Hart District Council representing wards within the Local Party, elected by and from such members;
- (e) One representative elected by and from each local branch of the party's Youth and Student Organisation;

The number of representatives in (d) and (e) should not exceed the number of officers as at (a).

5.4 The Executive Committee may co-opt up to three additional members, for a term expiring not later than December 31st of the year in which they are co-opted. The power of co-option shall be used, inter alia, to ensure if possible that no more than two-thirds of the Executive Committee (other than under Sections 5.3 (c) - (e)), identify as the same gender, and that there is fair representation of under-represented groups in the locality, with the intention of creating an executive that reflects the community the Local Party serves.